Top 13 Bowling facts of IPL

Spread the love

Hello everyone.I am back again.The 14h edition of the Indian Premier League is all set to begin from the 9th April 2021. The first match will played between Mumbai Indians (MI) and Royal challengers Banglore (RCB) at 7:30 PM (Indian Standard Time). With total 13 IPL seasons, we are here with the TOP 13 BOWLING FACTS OF IPL. It will leave even the most die-hard fans with wide-eyes.

Top 13 Bowling facts of IPL that you must know

1.First Bowler in Ipl

 praveen kumar   bowler
Bowling facts of IPL

Praveen Kumar, former Indian fast pacer, bowled the first delivery in the IPL (kolkata knight Riders vs Royal challengers Banglore).

2.First wicket in IPL

The first match was between Kolkata knight Riders and Royal challengers Banglore. Batting first, KKR lost his first wicket in the first couple of overs. The bowler was Zaher Khan, who took the first wicket of Ipl.

The batsman was none other than Sourav Ganguly, who scored only 10 runs from 12 balls. Surprisingly, it was the Indian who dismissed other Indian.

3.Longest Streak by a bowler without bowling a no-ball

Bowling facts of IPL piyush chawla bowler

The biggest regret ever a bowler can face is bowling a no-ball. It changes the scenario of the match. Luckily, this Indian bowler has achieved this feat. The former leg-spinner Piyush Chawla is one of the most underrated spinners in Indian Cricket.

He did not bowl a single no-ball for more than 386 overs. That’s almost eight years he did not give the other side a free-hit.

4.Bowler with most maiden overs

Bowling facts of Ipl

Till now, Praveen Kumar is the former Indian fast bowler in the IPL with 14 maiden overs. The former Indian fast bowler Irfan Pathan has 10 maiden overs, followed by Dhawal Kulkarni with 8 maiden overs.

5.Most number of dot balls

Harbhajan singh bowling facts of Ipl

Here comes another India bowler Harbhajan Singh “The Turbenator “, who has bowled 1,249 dot balls in 160 matches. That’s the significant figure by any player in the history of this tournament. The Sri Lankan fast bowler Lasith Malinga comes second with 1,155 dot balls.

6.Most number of dot balls in a single season : Bowling facts of IPL

In 2013 the South African fast pacer Dale Steyn bowled a total of 75.5 overs. He bowled 211 dot balls (35.1 overs), the most dot balls in a single season. The young Indian pacer Deepak Chahar comes second as he delivered 190 dot balls (31. 4 overs) in IPL 2019 after bowling just 64.3 overs.

7.Most hat-tricks taken by bowler In IPL

Taking a hat-trick in T20 is not easy as it looks. Surprisingly, the Indian Bowlers have done a great job. The legendary spinner Amit Mishra has bagged 3 hat-tricks in IPL. Another Indian player has taken 2 hat-tricks. Can you guess this player? I think you know him pretty well. He is none other than Yuvraj Singh.

8.Most runs conceded by a bowler in a over.

It’s the worst nightmare for a bowler to face. The Indian pacer Ishant Sharma made this possible by conceding the most runs in an innings in IPL history. In Ipl 2018, Basil Thampi joined Ishant Sharma as he conceded 70 runs in 4 overs with an economy of 17.5 against RCB in IPL 2018.

9.Most Wickets In The History Of IPL : Bowling facts of IPL

Lasith malinga bowling facts of Ipl

The most destructive bowler across all formats Lasith Malinga has been the best bowler in the Indian Premier League and became to take most wickets in IPL history. Malinga has played 122 matches in IPL and has taken 170 wickets which the most by any bowler.

Amit Mishra comes second on the list as he played 150 matches and has taken 160 wickets.

10.Most Purple Caps In IPL

Most purple cap winners

West Indies player Dwayne Bravo shares this record with India’s Swing king Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2 times each. Surprisingly, it’s an unknown fact of IPL that most Orange caps are taken by 4 Australian players while, the Purple Cap is ruled by 4 Indian players.

11.First purple cap in IPL : Bowling facts of IPL

First purple cap winner sohail tanvir

The first-ever Purple Cap was with Pakistani left-arm medium-pacer Sohail Tanvir, played for Rajasthan Royals.

12.Most wickets in single season of IPL

Dwayne bravo Bowling facts of IPL

Taking you to IPL 2013,a bowler made a record that has not yet beaten.It’s the bowler from Chennai Super Kings Dwayne Bravo, who took 32 wickets in just 18 matches and has held the record for most wickets in a single IPL season ever since.

13 Bowler with a best economy rate : Bowling facts of IPL

Best economy rate in Ipl

In 13 seasons of the Indian Premier League, it’s a bit difficult to choose a bowler with the good economy rate. As of now, Rashid Khan has an exceptional economy of 6.55, Anil Kumble, with an economy of 6.57.

The other mystery spinner Sunil Narine ranks 4 on the best economy with 6.67 and bowled 426.2 overs in total.

To know more about 2021 IPL ,about respective teams and players, click here.

That’s all for today. Here are some bowling facts of IPL. I can say some of these were unknown to you as well. That’s what IPL is all about!

Comment below what you like the most. Do let me know your queries.Share this with your family and friends as I will be back with more unique batting facts of IPL.

Till then, Goodbye.

Something Wrong Please Contact to Davsy Admin

About the author


View all posts

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *